The role of governors is far reaching with wide ranging responsibilities. In common with all schools the governing body is comprised of representatives from parents, LEA, local people and staff. The present governing body consists of:




Chair (Co-opted Governor)

Sue Mason (SEND and Safeguarding)

Acting Vice-Chair  (Co-opted Governor) Malcolm Cole (Finance and Premises and Achievement Outcomes)

Other Co-opted Governors

Avril Fanner (Primary School Improvement)

Isabel Handyside (Secondary School Improvement)

Dave Hitchcock (Community Links and Welfare)

Richard Palmer (Long Mead staff representative) (Personal Development and Behaviour)

Local Authority Governor

Peter Brierley (Leadership and Management and Assessment)

Parent Governors

Elaine Johnson (Hugh Christie Parent)  (Behaviour and Welfare)

Wendy Swinchatt (Long Mead Parent)


Staff Governor

Graeme Ions (Hugh Christie Staff Representative)  (SEND and Behaviour)                  

Executive Principal Governor 

Jon Barker (Federation Principal)

In attendance

Mark Fenn (Head of School, Hugh Christie)

Jo Powell (Head of School, Long Mead)

Pauline Brookman (Federation Business Manager)

Clerk to the Governors

Silvia Ricondo

 Governors are asked to declare annually conflicts of business interest  - to see the current register please click here


The governors may be contacted via the clerk at Hugh Christie School.(or by email to